Fort Collins Indecent Exposure Attorney
Masturbating During Uber Ride

A mayoral candidate was charged with Indecent Exposure for masturbating in the back seat of an Uber while getting a ride back to his hotel. Read more about it here.

Indecent Exposure can be charged in Fort Collins, Loveland, and Estes Park for more than just an exposure of genitals. Masturbating in public view will also result in this charge. A mayoral candidate was recently charged with Indecent Exposure after his Uber driver reported he was masturbating in the back seat while getting a ride to his hotel. According to the news report, the female driver heard noises in the backseat and saw the man masturbating. She stopped at a gas station to call the police when the man ran from the car. Through an investigation, the man’s name was discovered and he was charged with Indecent Exposure.

Larimer County Indecent Exposure Lawyer: Definition of Indecent Exposure

The Larimer, Boulder, and Grand County, Colorado law definition of Indecent Exposure – C.R.S. 18-7-302 – is:

A person commits indecent exposure:

(a) If he or she knowingly exposes his or her genitals to the view of any person under circumstances in which such conduct is likely to cause affront or alarm to the other person with the intent to arouse or to satisfy the sexual desire of any person;

(b) If he or she knowingly performs an act of masturbation in a manner which exposes the act to the view of any person under circumstances in which such conduct is likely to cause affront or alarm to the other person.

Based on the information provided in the article, the man was charged with Indecent Exposure under subsection (b) – act of masturbation in view of another person – the Uber driver.

Sentence for Masturbating in Uber Indecent Exposure in Fort Collins and Larimer County

As a class 1 misdemeanor, Indecent Exposure is punishable by 6 to 18 months in the Larimer County Jail and up to $5,000 in fines. However, if it is a third or subsequent offense, then it is charged as a class 6 felony, which is punishable by 12 to 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections. Indecent Exposure is also a sex offense, so a conviction will carry the sex offender registration requirement – whether it is a first or fourth offense.

If you or someone you love has been charged with Indecent Exposure, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O’Malley Law Office at 970-658-0007 to schedule a free initial consultation. Together, we can protect your future.

Image Source: Pixabay-Free-Photos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *