Can I Get a Concealed Carry Permit in Fort Collins, Loveland or Estes Park?
The application process for obtaining a CCW permit was established in Colorado in 2003, when it was realized that there was general confusion about the law regarding concealed handguns. In order to obtain a concealed carry permit in Fort Collins, a person must meet these requirements:
- Be a legal resident of the state of Colorado.
- Be 21 years of age or older.
- Demonstrate that they have competence handling a firearm.
- Pass a background check.
- Pay the permit processing fee (which is determined by the sheriff – it won’t exceed $100).
Larimer County Concealed Carry Permits Attorney: Restrictions to Obtaining a Concealed Carry Permit
There are restrictions to getting a concealed carry permit in Larimer County. You will be turned down automatically if you:
- Are a habitual alcohol user – so much so that normal abilities are impaired (however, if you provide a signed statement from an addiction counselor that proves you have been alcohol free for three years, you may still be able to obtain a permit).
- Have 2 or more alcohol-related convictions within ten years before submitting your application.
- Have a current restraining or protection order against you.
- Have been convicted of perjury.
- Are ineligible to possess a firearm, according to Colorado Statute 18-12-108, or federal law.
Who Decides If I Can Get a Concealed Carry Permit?
The Larimer County Sheriff is the ultimate decision-maker when it comes to whether or not you will be given a concealed carry permit.
- If all criteria is not met, the sheriff will deny the applicant.
- If the sheriff believes that an applicant is dangerous to society (or to himself), he or she will deny the permit.
- The sheriff has the authority to suspend or revoke any permit that has been previously issued.
- Appeals for permit denials can be brought to a Larimer County District Court judge, who can overrule the sheriff.
What To Do If You Have Been Rejected for a Concealed Carry Permit
If you completed the application process and were denied a permit by the sheriff, then you have ability to argue your case at a judicial review. The sheriff has the burden of proof, and will need to prove why you are ineligible to obtain a CCW. The experienced attorneys at our office have been helping people obtain concealed carry permits in Larimer, Weld, and Broomfield County for many years. We firmly believe that it is the right of every citizen to bear arms, and we support the National Rifle Association (NRA) and Rocky Mountain Gun Owners (RMGO) and their mission to protect these rights.[pullquote align=”center” textalign=”center” width=”100%”]“Laws that forbid the carrying of arms…disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes…such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man.” –Cesare Beccaria [/pullquote]
If you or a loved one has tried to get a concealed carry permit in Fort Collins, Loveland or Johnstown and been denied by the Larimer County Sheriff, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact an experienced gun rights criminal defense attorney at the O’Malley Law Office at 970-658-0007, or submit the “Get Help Now” form. Together, we can protect America.