Fort Collins 3rd Degree Burglary Attorney: What is the Definition of Third Degree Burglary?
Third Degree Burglary in Fort Collins – CRS 18-4-204, is charged when a person breaks into, or enters a:
- Cash Register
- Vending Machine
- Safety or Deposit Box
- Coin Telephone
- Coin Box
- Other apparatus or equipment
If a person breaks into any of these with the intent to commit a crime, they will be charged with Third Degree Burglary, which is a Class 5 felony. The sentence for a Class 5 felony is:
- 1 – 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
- $1,000 – $100,000 fine
Larimer County Third Degree Burglary and the Intent to Steal Drugs:
If a person breaks into any of the above, and the underlying crime is the intent to steal drugs, it carries a harsher penalty and is charged as a Class 4 felony. The sentence for a Class 4 felony is:
- 2-6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
- $2,000 – $500,000 fine
Why Do I Need a Larimer County Third Degree Burglary Lawyer in Fort Collins, Loveland or Estes Park?
Third degree burglary is the least serious burglary charge. The statute is broad, however, and the line between a legal act and third degree burglary is thin. For example: A boyfriend enters his girlfriend’s apartment to gather his things and encounters a locked drawer, only to find that his girlfriend has the key. If he forces the lock to get his belongings, he could be charged with the felony offense of third degree burglary. You need an experienced Third Degree Burglary Lawyer in Fort Collins to prove to the District Attorney that you did not intend to steal. Your freedom is at stake.