- First Degree Burglary – C.R.S 18-4-202
- Second Degree Burglary – C.R.S 18-4-203
Information about the Three Degrees of Burglary
First Degree Burglary
This is the most severe burglary charge. In order to be accused of this offense, an assault or menacing of a person while entering or fleeing the building must occur; or the possession of a deadly weapon. First Degree Burglary is a Class 3 felony, and you could be imprisoned in the Colorado Department of Corrections for up to 12 years.
Second Degree Burglary
Like all burglary charges, second degree burglary is charged when a person enters a building unlawfully with the intent to commit a crime. But, you can also be charged with second degree burglary if you entered a building lawfully, but remained inside illegally. Common underlying crimes are usually the intent to commit theft or assault. The sentence for a felony is imprisonment in the Department of Corrections.
Third Degree Burglary
This type of burglary is the lowest degree, and is therefore the least serious. It includes allegations that a person broke into a vault, locked container, or safe. The underlying crime for third degree burglary in Fort Collins, Loveland and Estes Park is almost always the intent to commit theft. Third degree Burglary is a Class 5 felony in Larimer County, which has a sentence of 1-4 years in prison.
Why Do I Need a Larimer County Burglary Defense Attorney?
Colorado Burglary statutes are complex, and the penalties are severe. You need an experienced Burglary defense attorney in Larimer County who will fight hard to protect you. We will evaluate whether or not the District Attorney can prove that you had the intent to commit an underlying crime. It is possible we can defend you by proving lack of intent, or consent to be on the property.