What is First Degree Perjury in Fort Collins?
Perjury in the First Degree – C.R.S. 18-8-502 – is defined by Colorado law as:
1st Degree Perjury is a felony offense in Fort Collins, Loveland, and Estes Park. This felony is charged when a person who has been sworn under oath lies during a trial. Because honesty is vital in court proceedings, any straying from the truth causes a disruption of the truth finding process and a potential injustice. It becomes exponentially more difficult to resolve a conflict when a person is dishonest, which is why this offense is treated so seriously. First Degree Perjury is a class 4 felony punishable by 2 to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $500,000 in fines.
What is Second Degree Perjury in Boulder County?
The Colorado law definition for Perjury in the Second Degree – C.R.S. 18-8-503 – is:
2nd Degree Perjury is very similar to 1st Degree Perjury except that the lie does not occur during court proceedings. This crime generally applies to an untrue statement made on an official document. Many times on a government form like an income tax return, there will be a statement at the end that reads: “I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.” When signing and dating this form, you are verifying that all the information is correct. If any statements made on the form were lies, 2nd Degree Perjury charges may apply. As a class 1 misdemeanor, this crime is punishable by 6 to 18 months in Larimer County Jail.[pullquote align=”center” textalign=”center” width=”95%”]A Perjury conviction makes a significant mark on your criminal record.[/pullquote]
Why You Need a Lawyer When Facing Perjury Charges
A Perjury conviction makes a significant mark on your criminal record. Possible prison or county jail time aside, when a potential employer or landlord run a background check on you, they will see the Perjury conviction. Most people do not want to take on the risk of having a liar working for them, so they will decide not to hire you without any more investigation. If you are facing a 1st or 2nd Degree Perjury charge, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney to defend you. There are defenses for this type of crime. Let us protect you and your future.