Fort Collins Drunk Driving Attorney
Drunk Man Mistakes Bank for Taco Bell Drive Thru

A man was arrested for drunk driving after stopping at a bank atm, passing out, and then trying to order a burrito. Read more about this story here.

In Fort Collins, Loveland, and Estes Park, Driving Under the Influence or DUI is charged when a person operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. When a Fort Collins police officer pulls someone over, they must have probable cause to arrest them for DUI. That probable cause is often established through the voluntary roadside tests or other physical observations, like bloodshot eyes. One man left little question as to an officer’s probable cause in his case, as he drove up to a bank drive thru trying to order a burrito. According to the report, the man was blocking access to the bank’s ATM after passing out behind the wheel. Bank employees attempted to wake him several times before he came to and ordered his burrito. The man remained in the parking lot until police arrived.

Larimer County Drunk Driving Lawyer: What is the Definition of Driving Under the Influence in Boulder County?

The Larimer, Boulder, and Grand County, Colorado law definition of Driving Under the Influence – C.R.S. 42-4-1301 – is:

Driving under the influence means driving a motor vehicle or vehicle when a person has consumed alcohol or one or more drugs, or a combination of alcohol and one or more drugs, that affects the person to a degree that the person is substantially incapable, either mentally or physically, or both mentally and physically, to exercise clear judgment, sufficient physical control, or due care in the safe operation of a vehicle.

The degree that the Colorado has decided makes a person substantially incapable of operating a motor vehicle is when they have a BAC of .08 or higher.

Punishment for DUI / Drunk Driving in Fort Collins and Loveland

The sentence or punishment for a Driving Under the Influence conviction depends on how many previous DUI offenses the person has:

Offense Sentence
DUI – 1st Offense


5 days – 1 year in the Larimer County Jail; 48 – 96 hours community service
DUI – 1st Offense when BAC is .20 or higher


10 days – 1 year in the Boulder County Jail; 48 – 96 hours community service
DUI – 2nd Offense


10 days – 1 year in the Larimer County Jail; 48 – 120 hours community service
DUI – 3rd Offense


60 days – 1 year in the Grand County Jail; 48 – 120 hours community service
DUI – 4th or subsequent offense 2 – 6 years in the Department of Corrections; 3 years of parole

If you or someone you love has been charged with DUI, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best DUI attorneys from the O’Malley Law Office at 970-658-0007 today. Together, we can protect your future.

Image Source: Pixabay-samuelfernandezrivera